Open Face

I joined the edublogger group on facebook yesterday. I plan on continuing with this project. My notes for Chapter 4 of Democracy and Education have been sitting untouched for well over a month now.

The thing is I’m hesitating. I’m still working on a proposal for Grad school, which is now, at this moment, worlds away from the proposal I mentioned earlier, and I’m reading in a new direction, so blogging feels a little like playing poker wearing mirrored sunglasses and thinking out loud.

The other thing, which is the reason I’m writing this, is, while I might be out of my comfort zone showing my cards and thinking out loud, I do value the concept of open or open-ness.

Since writing up Chapter 3 of Democracy and Education, I’ve put the book down and read Pedagogy of the Oppressed, Civilization and it’s Discontents, Anti-Oedipus, Darwin’s Dangerous Idea, “The Geology of Morals” in A Thousand Plateaus, and am now reading On the Origin of Species. When Dewey set out “to point out the changes in subject matter and method indicated by [evolutionary ideas],” in August 1915 he had no idea the extent those ideas would be developed over the next few decades, or the taboo that would come to surround any application of Darwinian theory to humans.

The proposal I’m working on now is Evolution and Education. If you do a Google search two hundred thousand results come up, the first couple pages all deal with teaching evolution and or as opposed to creationism, I’m not proposing anything like that. In “The influence of Darwin on Philosophy” Dewey, after explaining how Darwin removes idealization and transcendent causes, writes, “But a philosophy that humbles its pretensions to the work of projecting hypotheses for the education and conduct of mind, individual and social, is thereby subjected to test by way in which the ideas it propounds work out in practice.” I’m looking at the theory and philosophy of evolution from Darwin through Nietzsche through Deleuze and also contemporary science of evolution to then apply this growing body of work to curriculum theory and instructional design.

This is where I am today.

Leave a Reply

